Space Generation Leadership Award

Description | Award | Competition Guidelines | Schedule | Contact | Sponsor


One of the goals of the Space Generation Congress is to provide an opportunity for interaction between members of the space sector with diverse geographic and technical backgrounds. To enable those members of the SGAC community without sources of funding to attend the event, and recognize our active members, SGAC has been running the Space Generation Leadership Award, which selects top international applicants to attend the 16th Space Generation Congress and the 68th International Astronautical Congress in Adelaide, Australia.



The award will cover the costs incurred to attend the following events:

The award will cover round trip travel to Adelaide, lodging, visa costs, and the registration fees for both events up to a maximum amount communicated to each awardee.



  1. The language of all submissions must be in English.
  2. Applicants are asked to submit their CV with date of birth and a headshot photo, and a one page letter of intent.
  3. Your letter of intent should:
    1. Showcase previous contributions to SGAC activities (if any)
    2. Include the reason why you want to attend SGC/IAC and what you wish to gain from this experience
    3. Highlight how this selection impacts you
    4. Include information on how you plan to share your experience with others from your country.
  4. All submissions have to be merged into one single document (unlocked PDF under 5 MB) and submitted via the Scholarships Submission Form. You will need to be logged in as an SGAC member to access this page - submissions must be made by 31 May 2017, 23:59 GMT. Any submissions after the deadline will not be considered.
  5. The award is open for all students and young professionals from any country. Participants must be SGAC members, 35  or younger by 25 September 2017.
  6. The previous winners of the Space Generation Leadership Award, SGAC Young Space Leaders Scholarship and Global Grants Programme are not eligible for this award.
  7. Winners of any other scholarship or grant for SGC or IAC 2017 (whether provided by SGAC or other organizations) are also ineligible for the SGLA award.
  8. Winners are required to support the running of SGC, and the SGAC booth at IAC. Examples of tasks include being the rapporteur of a SGC Working Group, helping with writing a group report or helping at the SGAC booth at IAC. Winners are required to attend a one hour online meeting prior to SGC to discuss their duties during SGC and IAC.
  9. Winners are required to write a short report describing their experience at SGC and IAC which will be showcased on the SGAC newsletter.
  10. The award will be paid out after the congress, and upon fulfilment of all requirements in a suitable manner. Pay out will be done no later than 30 days after submission of all relevant documents.
  11. By submitting an entry, applicants agree to permit SGAC and other participating organisations to mention their names, affiliations and headshot pictures in connection with the award.
  12. Organisers shall not be responsible in the event that the award winner fails to attend SGC and/or IAC or is unable to under extenuating circumstances; in that case the award offer shall become void.
  13. Organisers shall not be responsible in the event that the award winner cannot obtain any necessary travel documents; if they are required but not obtained, the award offer shall become void.


Selection Criteria

The selection will be based on the following criteria:

  • Activity in SGAC and/or willingness to get (more) involved (30%)
  • Contribution to space community (20%)

    • Contributions can include scientific publications, work on space related projects, volunteering with space nonprofits, etc.
  • What do you bring to SGC 2017 (20%)

  • What do you expect to learn and/or achieve during these events and how would you raise awareness of SGAC after the grant (10%)

  • Well-written and coherent application (10%)

  • Nationality of a country with limited grant opportunities (10%)

The assessment of applications for the Space Generation Leadership Award 2017 will be conducted jointly by the SGAC Chairs, Executive Director, Deputy Executive Director, Scholarships Coordinators, SGC 2017 Manager and SGC 2017 Deputy Manager. Each application will be assessed by two reviewers.



Entries accepted Now!
Submission Deadline  31 May 2017, 23:59 GMT  
Winners announced 30 June 2017
Space Generation Congress   21 - 23 September 2017
International Astronautical Congress  

25 - 29 September 2017  



For any questions, please refer to SGAC Scholarships Coordinators, Nicole Chase and Michal Kunes (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).


List of previous winners

2016: Daniel Brack, Ramasamy Venugopal, Chantelle Dubois, Hansley Noruthun, Caroline Thro

2015: Giampietro Tonoli, Sirisha Bandla, Bruno Sarli, Kyle Acierno

2014: Reinhard Tlustos, Jacob Hacker

2013: Sandra Gonzalez, Beza Tesfaye, Zihua Zhu, Behnoosh Meskoob

2012: Edu Aymerich, Damian Bielicki, Matteo Emanuelli, Scott Fisher, Katrina Laygo, Laura Rose, Junzi Sun, Victoria Alonso Perez, Seyed Ali Nasseri

2011: Chris Vasko, Marc Cornwall, Oana Sandu, Juergen Schlutz, Joyeeta Chatterjee,
H. Aziz Kayihan, Beata Mäihäniemi, Nunzia Maria Paradiso, Paul Guthrie, Suresh Bhattarai,
Minoo Rathnasabapathy, Ricardo Leandro, Adebowale Shadare, Yohan Ferreira, Ondrej Bruna

2010: Victoria Alonsoperez, Tab Smith, Prospery Simpemba, Pierre van Heerden, Oana Sandu, Muhammad Shafiq, Mario Camiciolli, Maria-Laura Voda, Jessie Ndaba, Israel Ojeda, Ekaterina Gana, Christopher Vasko, Cem Asma, Bernardo Santos, Bekele Erko, Beata Szczepaniak, Artiom Asimov, Ana Alexandra Perez

© 2006-2018   Space Generation Advisory Council  |